Faces of Addiction

An addict (mostly crack), Maribel is the mother of five children. When I asked her about prostitution she said, she used to, but “now I get in the guys cars but I don’t do nothing. I rob them, honest to God.” When I told her I was going to write that she said, “I know who I am, I know where I stand, and I know where I´m heading. I can always hold my head up high.”

Chris Arnade (Twitter: @Chris_arnade) loves to tell to his interlocutors that he is not a journalist: «I post people’s stories as they tell them to me. I don’t try to verify, just listen.» Chris is exploring the neighborhoods of New York, collecting stories of addiction, prostitution, abuse and marginalization. His photo-stream on Flickr represents an amazing view inside the backyards of our civilization.

Cynthia, forty six, starting working as a prostitute at the age of thirteen. Cynthia is now the mother of fifteen children, eleven of whom are still alive. Her “baby” is sixteen, her oldest child thirty. When I asked her how she wanted to be described she looked me in the eye, thought for a second, then said “An honest person. Thats what I am. An honest person.”

The story of Chris Arnade and his photographic mission has been featured recently on The New York Times.

(Captions and pictures by Chris Arnade (c) 2012 http://www.flickr.com/photos/arnade/)

Leave a Reply

